The work of the Western Development Commission is on-going.

However, in line with Government guidelines and to help arrest the spread of Covid-19, our offices will be closed and our team will be working remotely until further notice.

For any queries please email:

or call

Corporate Services – Caroline Coffey – 087 7372687

Corporate Services – Tomas Mahon – 087 2255170

Our Vision

The WDC is delighted to present the ‘Work Smarter, Live Better’ strategy for the period 2019-2024. This strategy is the result of considerable effort by internal and external stakeholders over the course of 2018. View the strategy here.

Counties in the Western Region

There are seven counties in the Western Region: Donegal, Sligo, Leitrim, Roscommon, Mayo, Galway and Clare.















WDC Investment Fund

The WDC Investment Fund comprises the Business Loan Fund, Community Loan Fund and Creative Industries Micro-Loan Fund.

Regional Development

The WDC Regional Development team implements innovative and strategic regional development initiatives in the West.

Policy Analysis

The WDC Policy Analysis team conducts research on regional and rural issues and provides a regional perspective to the work of Government.

Creative Industries

If you have a micro enterprise, (a company employing less than ten people) then you may be able to access our Creative Industries Micro-Loan Fund, which provides loan finance ranging from €5,000 to €25,000 to grow and develop your business.

Airo Mapping Tool

The WDC works with local, regional and national bodies to implement innovative and strategic regional development initiatives in the Western Region.

WDC Insights Blog

The WDC Policy Analysis team provides insights on key issues for the Western Region of Ireland. Keep up to speed with our regular blog.