Minister Ring Appoints 11 New Board Members to the Western Development Commission

The WDC welcomes the appointment of a new Board by Minister Micheal Ring, Minister for Rural and Community Development.

The following members were appointed  on 18th August 2017:


Dr. Deirdre Garvey                   Senior Lecturer,  Mayo Campus, GMIT

Mr.  Ian Barrett                         MD, Care About You; former MD Resilience Healthcare

Mr. Noel Brett                           CEO, Banking & Payments Federation Ireland; ex-CEO Road Safety Authority

Professor Mary P. Corcoran    Head of Dept. of Sociology, Maynooth University

Mr. Michael Frain                     MD, First Class Office, Co. Roscommon

Mr. Gerry Finn                           Former Directory of the Border and Western Regional Assembly

Mr. John Kelleher                     Head of Department, Computing and Creative Practices, Sligo IT

Mr. Christy Loftus                     Retired Communications Advisor and journalist

Mr. Henry McGarvey                Secretary/Financial Controller, LYIT;   former MD, Pramerica Systems Ireland

Ms. Auveen O’Neill                   MD, AO Business Consultants; former mentor for Enterprise Ireland

Ms. Yvonne Shields                  CEO, Commissioner of Irish Lights; non-Executive Director, SmartBay Ltd;


See full Press Statement here: